Annual Prose & Poetry Contest

Contest CLOSED APRIL 30, 2020

Over $1700.00 in Prizes
1st Prize (Poetry and Fiction) $500 Sponsored by Frontenac House and AWCS
2nd Prize (Poetry and Fiction) $250. Sponsored by Freehand Books
3rd Prize (Poetry and Fiction) $75.00 Sponsored by FreeFall Literary Society
Honourable Mention (Poetry and Fiction) $25.00 Sponsored by Freehand Books

All contest entries are also automatically entered into the Lynn Fraser Memorial contest for a chance to win $100.


Freefall is pleased to announce Gary Barwin as the poetry/prose contest judge for 2019. The author of twenty-two books of poetry, fiction, and books for children, Gary Barwin is a writer, musician, and multimedia arist from Hamilton, and the author of the nationally bestselling novel, Yiddish for Pirates, which won the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour, the Canadian Jewish Literary Award, was shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and the Governor General’s Award. Barwin has been Writer-in-Residence at Western University, Hillfield Strathallan College, McMaster University, the Hamilton Public Library, Toronto Public Library, and Wilfrid Laurier University. He lives in Hamilton, Ontario and at garybarwin.com


Entry fee: $25.00 (includes one year subscription for your first entry only)*
Additional entries $5.00 (at time of original entry only)

Maximum 3000 words prose, or 5 poems per entry.
Both Electronic entries and Mailed entries must be received on or before April 30, 2020.
Only previously unpublished work may be entered. No simultaneous entries.
Prose entries must be:
Double spaced with a title
Page number at the top of each page
NO authors name on manuscript

Poetry entries must be:
Single spaced
NO author’s name on manuscript
Poems that run more than one page require a title and page number at the top of each page.

Mailed Submissions General Formatting page size: 8.5” X 11” , all margins: 1.5”, 12 pt Times New Roman font. Please save as doc or docx.

Please Note - Short listed entries may be selected for publication to round out the issue and will be paid the standard rate.

2018 Winners


1st Place: Wayne Yetman for “Cuidado”
2nd Place: Sile Englert for “Selvedge”
3rd Place: Travis Oltmann for “Veneration”


1st Place: Bruce Meyer for “To the Manor Born
2nd place: Hadeel Abdel-Nabi for “A Man Yelled at me in the Alley and I Liked It
3rd Place: Mark Sampson for “Dracula, Count of Transylvania, Does an MFA in Creative Writing”
Honourable Mention: Bruce Meyer for “On First Looking into Bark’s Rumi”
Honourable Mention: Neil Griffin for Two Hypotheses on the Formation of Saturn's Rings”
Honourable Mention: Rhonda Collis for “Bioluminescence Bay”

Lynn C. Fraser Memorial Award

Suzanne Johnston for “The Art of Falling”

The Micheline Maylor Prize for Poetic Excellence

Evan Nielson for “A Prelapsarian Fall, c. 66, 000, 000 BC”

Previous Annual Contest Winners

Copyright Freefall Magazine 2020